BLACK FLAG - "Everything Went Black" 2xLP


"If you’re one of those people who aren’t wildly enthusiastic about BLACK FLAG’s current metal orientation, this should be like a manna from heaven. It might even be the last BLACK FLAG record you’ll actually kill to buy. The records include all unreleased material and feature each of their first three vocalists.

Keith’s (“Johnny’s”) vocals may be the most distinctive, and Greg’s guitar tone might attain the most piercing extremes in the Dez era, but I personally prefer the almost ideal balance achieved during Ron’s (“Chavo’s”) tenure as singer. Enough bullshit, this is a mandatory purchase that demonstrates why BLACK FLAG once headed the US punk pantheon, so buy it and pin your ears back."

-MRR #6, May/June 1983

Jonny "Bob" Goldstein (Keith Morris) Era
1. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie
2. I Don't Care
3. White Minority
4. No Values
5. Revenge
6. Depression
7. Clocked In
8. Police Story
9. Wasted

Jealous Again Era - Chavo
1. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie
2. Depression
3. Police Story
4. Clocked In
5. My Rules
Jealous Again Era - Dez
6. Jealous Again
7. Police Story
8. Damaged I
9. Louie Louie

The Dez Continuum
1. No More
2. Room 13
3. Depression
4. Damaged II
5. Padded Cell
6. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie

1 Crass Commercialism